Tell me how to startup (c) Kryak meetings – Telegram
Tell me how to startup (c) Kryak meetings
382 subscribers
526 photos
26 videos
31 files
851 links
Start? Growth? Fail? Success?
Личные истории и выдумки founder’a Monosnap ⚡️
Download Telegram
Paywalls: they aren’t just for The New York Times.*

They’re a powerful lever for SaaS companies — and especially PLG companies — to convert and expand their users 💸💸

Free-to-paid examples
👉 Zoom’s 40 minute time limit
👉 Miro’s 3 active board limit
👉 Slack’s message history limit
👉 Canva’s 5GB storage limit

Expansion examples
👉 SurveyMonkey has response limits on self-serve plans
👉 Zapier has limits on automation volume
👉 DocuSign has limits on # of docs per month

Here’s why I’m a fan.

🚀 They give users a taste of premium features while still preserving an upsell path.

🚀 They create a ‘compelling event’ that tells users now is the time to upgrade.

🚀 They can be extremely powerful — upgrade rates are notoriously high (often 20-25%+) among folks who hit a usage paywall

Easy to say, not so easy to implement in practice. Some rules of thumb.

☑️ Follow the 80/20 rule when setting the usage limit. 80% of users will stick to the plan they have and 20% will be asked to upgrade.

☑️ Pick a metric that grows over time. Users shouldn’t hit the paywall on their first day. Give them time to experience value.

☑️ It’s fine to create some friction for the users — that’s what nudges them to pay — but you should still give folks a workaround. For example, SurveyMonkey charges when you want to view an extra response, not when you want to collect it.

I unpacked this #growthexperiment in The Gist by Growth Unhinged, my attempt to bring you real-world growth tactics you can use. Here’s the full story: https://lnkd.in/eh7FH3fb

Check out the piece, then chime in: what usage paywalls have convinced you to buy a PLG product?

Can’t wait to hear what y’all think of The Gist!

*Interestingly, the NYT has shifted from its 20-article limit to a more dynamic paywall that leverages ML. https://open.nytimes.com/how-the-new-york-times-uses-machine-learning-to-make-its-paywall-smarter-e5771d5f46f8

#growth #marketing #productledgrowth

Пост отдельный:
https://kylepoyar.substack.com/p/the-gist-a-simple-way-to-boost-conversion
😔 Cancel VC:
📎 https://ain.capital/2022/12/07/flashpoint-has-close-ties-with-russia/

Попасть под агрессию сми - будет сильный репутационный удар по фаундерам и стартапам.

Интересные участники/LP бурана и хорошо знакомые мне фамилии, интересно где они еще смогли свои активы припарковать.
В догонку от очень жесткого VC из Польши годный призыв к другим участникам VC тусовки:
📎https://www.linkedin.com/posts/musielak_as-a-member-of-the-central-and-eastern-european-activity-7005103067989721088-IpKw?utm_source=share&utm_medium=member_ios - ⚠️ ему лучше не писать и в фонд SMOK vc не стучаться, получите дозу публичных порицаний из-за паспорта.

As a member of the Central and Eastern European (CEE) startup ecosystem, I have had the opportunity to interact with many venture capitalists (VCs) over the years. Unfortunately, my experience has led me to the conclusion that most of them are, in fact, jerks.

Here are ten things that VCs in the CEE ecosystem should change in order to not be jerks:

1. Stop interrupting entrepreneurs during pitches. It's rude and shows a lack of respect for the hard work that goes into preparing for a pitch.

2. Stop condescending to entrepreneurs. Most of us are well-educated and have a lot of experience, so don't talk down to us.

3. Stop making promises that you don't keep. If you say you're going to follow up, do it. If you say you're interested in investing, follow through.

4. Stop expecting entrepreneurs to jump through hoops for you. We're busy people too, and we don't have time to constantly chase you down for meetings and updates.

5. Stop making decisions based on superficial metrics like the founder's age or the color of their logo. Focus on the quality of the idea and the team.

6. Stop expecting entrepreneurs to be available 24/7. We have families and personal lives too, and we need time to recharge.

7. Stop being overly risk-averse. Not every startup is going to be a sure thing, and sometimes taking a calculated risk can pay off big time.

8. Stop being selfish. Remember that the success of an entrepreneur's company also means success for you as an investor.

9. Stop being exclusive. The CEE startup ecosystem is still small, and we need to support and uplift each other in order to grow and thrive.

10. Stop being jerks. It's that simple. Be respectful, be professional, and be a decent human being.

To all the VCs out there who are reading this: I know that there are some of you who are not jerks, and who are genuinely supportive and helpful to entrepreneurs. Thank you for being the exception to the rule. But for the rest of you, it's time to step up and change your behavior. The CEE startup ecosystem deserves better.
👍5
Even though it's the same technology, ChatGPT is taking off way faster than GPT-3.

A few lessons we can learn from its growth 👇


GPT-3 has been publicly available for more than a year. You can go to OpenAI's website and access it via a UI.

ChatGPT launched last week and grew to 1 million users in 6 days. (Link below 🔻)

So what gives?


Takeaway 1: Constraints are good

By putting some constraints on the UI and forcing the user to input into a chatbox, ChatGPT makes it clearer what the user can do with it.

SaaS companies that keep their product simple and don't provide *too* much freedom for their users tend to do better too.


Takeaway 2: Viral loops are powerful

ChatGPT allows you to 'talk' to the AI. This generates interesting interactions which users then share on social media. This in turn acquires more users for the product.


Takeaway 3: Ship fast instead of pursue perfection

ChatGPT still makes many errors. And it sometimes produces results that are offensive, even with the built-in safeguards.

This didn't stop OpenAI from releasing it. The immense volume of user interaction helps them refine the product much faster than if they chipped away at it for a few more months.


Have you tried it out? What are some of your favorite interactions?

#growth #ai
🔥1
B2B_SaaS_Pricing_Predictions_for_2023_1670521232.pdf
1.3 MB
📣 📖 We’re excited to release a brand new report, “B2B SaaS Pricing Predictions For 2023”. This report deep dives into eight predictions for where SaaS pricing is headed in the coming year, as well as actionable advice from each of the contributors.

m3ter wanted to understand what experts are expecting in B2B SaaS pricing over the coming year. We spoke with seven SaaS pricing experts James Wood, Nicholas Zarb, Kyle Poyar, Christian Owens, Todd Gardner, Andreas Panayiotou, and our very own Griffin Parry to learn more and we are pleased to share with the pricing community. 

👀 Here is a sneak peek at three of the predictions we highlight in the report:

1️⃣ Tactics that lower barriers to entry for customers will be prioritized in 2023
2️⃣ Some SaaS companies will raise prices in the next year, but others will strategically choose not to
3️⃣ With customers cutting back, there will be more focus on flexible pricing and preventing churn

And while SaaS has experienced downturns before – 2014, 2016, and briefly in 2020 at the start of the pandemic. The challenges in 2023 will be of a different order. 

Read more about what’s to come for 2023 in the report below. We'd also love to hear your thoughts and other predictions in the comments below👇.
#saas #pricing #predictions
Insight Partners, OpenView, Notion Capital, Simon-Kucher & Partners, Paddle

https://www.m3ter.com/blog/saas-pricing-predictions-report-2023
1🔥1
Прикольную рассылку нашел с Sifted-eu.
💰Seed funding for startups 101: How to raise cash from VCs in 2023:
🔗https://sifted.eu/articles/seed-funding-101/

⚠️Надо понимать, что статья про Европу.
В статье микс из коротких советов/overview и парой ссылок на другие статьи:
🔗https://sifted.eu/articles/perfect-pitch-deck-funding/ - вот это интересно:
🦄He says decks at each stage should show the following:
Pre-seed: Great team, market dynamics/competitors, insight/differentiation, an execution plan.
Seed: Same as above, plus a minimum viable product (MVP) and some early customers and signals toward product-market fit (PMF).
Series A: You’re 75% toward PMF with early pilots/paying customers — not fully worked unit economics but can prove demand.
Series B: You have 100% PMF with stable unit economics, and are looking to raise to scale sales operations, plus the next product in your pipeline.

Было бы конечно очень круто, если VC могли единую терминологию со стартапами найти. Кто-то на Seed'e уже хочет PMF и потоки выручки с планом по выходу к IPO. 🤷

🥲Неприятная статья про закручивание "гаек" и условий от VC:
" In the tech boom times, terms skewed towards giving more control and incentives to founders. "
🔗https://sifted.eu/articles/term-sheet-market-turbulence/

1️⃣Valuations are falling and everyone wants to avoid a downround (Seed+, Pre-Series-A etc)
2️⃣Liquidation preferences - в Linkedin'е видел интересный кейс, где ранние инвесторы из ликпрефов вообще ничего не увидели и не получили. 🙅🤷
3️⃣ What kinds of investors are out there?
Умные слова, мне понравился камень в огород P/E
“[PE] investors think about financial returns very differently. They typically are not backing founders, they’re backing businesses. They’re not backing technology, they’re backing economics,” Turner says.
4️⃣ So what can founders do to not get screwed?
⚠️Northzone’s Kotting says that founders should talk to people they trust to get a second opinion on a deal — something he’s doing with many non-Northzone portfolio companies. 
💡Общаетесь с VC/Ангелом? Ищите второе мнение, а лучше третье/четвертое, чтобы не быть загазлайченым или повестись на сиеминутном приливе адреналина и подписать "кабально-анальный" ТШ. Аккуратнее 🙏

🔎Список европейских VC, достаточно подробно описаны условия и индустрии.
⚠️Для тех кто выехал и имеет ВНЖ другой страны, и то могут быть вопросы.
🔗https://sifted.eu/articles/top-vcs-according-to-founders/

🧠Прикольно заниматься саморефлексией и разбирать текстами/постами свои мысли/действия.
В пятницу о больном, про презентации и питчдэки...
Так выглядит боль каждого стартапера... Скорее всего каждая новая папка и дэка сопровождалась не самой приятной обратной связью 😅🐸 Это в догонку к прошлому сообщению и идеальному питчу
What's the difference between Venture Capital and Private Equity?

A lot...

Read on:

Private Equity and Venture Capital are often used synonymously.

Both invest in private companies whose shares are not publicly traded on exchanges.

However, VCs generally invest earlier in a company's lifecycle than PE.

To go one level deeper, we can categorize private market investors by stage:

1/ Angel: Individuals
2/ Seed: 1st institutional check
3/ Growth: Series A - C
4/ Late Stage or Crossover: C through IPO
5/ Buyout: Majority control, Debt

Note: There IS OVERLAP

Let's dig into each

1/ Angel

Angels give support to start-ups at the initial moments, when most institutional investors are not prepared to back them.

They may be families, friends, or former colleagues of the founders.

They usually invest when a company is trying to go from PowerPoint to reality.

-Check Size: $10K to $250K
-Holding Period: 8 to 10 years
-Target Return: >75% IRR or +10x

2/ Seed

Seed-stage investors are the first institutional check into a company.

Capital is typically used for market research, product development and business expansion.

At this stage, the first full-time sales and marketing people are usually hired.

-Check Size: $250K to $2M
-Holding Period: 6 to 8 years
-Target Return: >60% IRR or +10x

3/ Growth

Growth investors typically participate in Series A, B, and C rounds.

They pour fuel on the fire once product-market fit is established.

This is when a company is scaling its go-to-market engine for exponential growth.

-Check Size: $10M to $50M
-Holding Period: 5 to 7 years
-Target Return: >40% IRR or +7x

4/ Late Stage / Cross Over

Companies look to show efficient growth, marching towards a sustainable long term financial profile.

Proceeds may be used to go from single to multi product and expand sales internationally.

Investors often build starter positions to go bigger at IPO.

-Check Size: $50M - $150M
-Holding Period: <5 years
-Target Return: 25 to 35% IRR or +5x

5/ Buyout

This is when you buy the entire thing, usually using debt, to make it more efficient and flip it later.

Flavors include LBOs (leveraged buyouts), Take Privates, Rollups, Platforms and HoldCos.

Free cash flow is usually needed to pay down debt, which is prevalent.

-Check Size: Depends on strategy, could be hundreds of thousands to billions (see: Anaplan, Sailpoint, ForgeRock)
-Holding Period: 3 to 5 years
-Target Return: >18% IRR or +3x

That's a wrap on VC vs PE. Feel free to share if you learned something new.
👍1
🤔Периодически буду присылать отрывки из «сборник вредных советов для …», для кого пока не понял, толи VC, толи стартапов, но вот знакомые фаундеры поделились про pre-seed/seed:


🦄сам пост:
Мы решили на пре-сид раунде послать всех инвесторов, простите, в жопу. Ниже объясняю почему.
*
*
*
*
*
Dmitry Pangin (основатель Penenza) - привык делать бизнес.
Бизнес для него это то, что приносит прибыль.
Человек, за плечами которого бизнесы с миллиардными оборотами - всегда мыслит деньгами в первую очередь.

Что важно бизнесу? Прибыль. Профит. Деньги важны. Поток денежный важен.

Но добро пожаловать в мир старт-апов, ха. Где прибыль особо никому не нужна, ха.
Помните это знаменитое “Grow fast or die slow”?
Нужно показывать трэкшен и показывать рост. Иначе вам нечего показать инвесторам, иначе вы не поднимете деньги, иначе вы сдохнете.

Мы же (я+Дима) искали инвестиции, исходя из другой концепции - из того, сколько нам нужно денег до breakeven’а в Индии. Исходя из того, что мы оба предприниматели, в первую очередь.

А оказалось, что breakeven не нужен инвесторам. Нахер никому не интересно, никто про него и не спрашивает даже, ни разу не задали этот вопрос, аааа…

В очереди стоит куча, море, масса, больше 20 инвесторов, многие с комитами, которые готовы дать денег - просто покажите, что это работает! “Дайте трэкшен, дайте привязку к реальности, дайте РОСТ, будут деньги”.

Хм. Задумались мы. А traction чтобы сделать… - деньги-то нам нахер и не нужны, вот что мы осознали!

Дошли мы, эмпирическим путем дотумкали ( больше 150 питчей все-таки!) до важной, основополагающей мысли для нас. И для вас, если вы старт-ап в начале своего развития. Слушайте!

Зачем нам продавать долю сейчас по такой небольшой оценке, из-за того что у нас нет трэкшена? Если мы можем продать гораздо дороже тогда, когда этот так чаемый traction появится?

Без трэкшена - это называется пре-сид. Те варианты которые нам предлагают на пре - сид - это полный пиздец, товарищщи.
Платят они, музыку заказывают тоже они:

-Польский фонд, который дает только на условиях релокации в Польшу, регистрации всех entities в Польше, перевода всей разработки в Польшу, ессно, все IP будет в Польше и ебитесь тоже потом в нашей Польше как хотите.

-Французский фонд с какими-то то разговорами про то, все это слишком дорого, вы слишком многого хотите на этом этапе, давайте дешевле, у вас же ничего нет, 30% доли - это нормальная оценка!

-Индийцы через раз пытаются нам навязать контроль в компании, который заведомо превышает ценность вкладываемых ими инвестиций.

Вся тягомотина нам, короче, надоела. Мы решили всех, простите, послать в жопу.

Деньги, чтобы сделать первый трэкшен в Индии у нас достаточно, нам на этом этапе эти копейки по цене парохода не нужны.

Дальше - следующим этапом, после трэкшена - это уже будет называться сид, ребятушки, и это, конечно, будет дороже. И музыку заказывать будем уже мы. И танцевать тоже будем мы.

Правда, Пангин говорит, что все-таки нехорошо - всем предлагали, предлагались, а теперь откажем? Столько времени потратили, due diligence, переговоры, месяцы совместной работы, а теперь коту под хвост?

Поэтому так решили - мы сейчас говорим, что все, кто готов прыгнуть и сыграть в рулетку - без трэкшена (который, кстати, вот-вот появится) - пожалуйста. В темную, да.
Есть опыт основателей, есть гигантский рынок, есть IT Финтек платформа (релиз в Индии, кстати, сделали!), есть waiting list, есть 5 заполненных application от клиентов, но нет пока денег на счету.

Ну. Месяц и уже мы будем выбирать )
Нет? Приходите через полтора месяца, мы с вами обязательно свяжемся.

Как-то так.
Какой-то такой инсайт сегодня. В пн отправлю рассылку по инвест контактам с этой мыслью (ну, вежливо все будет, конечно, не так как тут:))

1) дек и бизнес модель - в первом комменте
2) ЛАЙК посту, если такое интересно читать, не жадничайте

#заметки_директора_по_инвестициям

#penenza

💡Оригинал:
https://www.facebook.com/100000223788781/posts/pfbid02dM9SC75CzNammfBTBTKkeipH3MdQig1YpwenwneZ4YxFwCdHeZ3csrJDg41uwxHzl/?mibextid=gkx3sN
👍5🔥3
(с) https://www.facebook.com/izhanov

Главная проблема фаундера на самой ранней стадии — не с кем поговорить, обсудить идеи.

Все либо говорят: займись делом, не страдай фигнёй, либо — ты молодец, вперёд и дальше всё мимо ушей. Никто особенно не вникает в твой проект, у каждого свои интересы и дела.

А фаундеру жизненно необходимо много выговариваться, формулировать свои мысли, получать обратную связь. В этом и есть по сути его роль и основная работа на стадии идеи.

Сам через это проходил много раз, поэтому как могу в проекты стартаперов вникаю, слушаю (чаще всего через голосовые сообщения, очень удобно). Появляю эмпатию, тренирую её так сказать.

Правда, только тех, кто способен сделать и прислать сначала минимальную презентацию / уанпейджер. Иначе совсем несвязный поток мыслей получается.

Такие дела. Вот, тоже чуть выговорился :->
🤔 LTV / CAC - ration?
Считать любят значения эти как удобно, преследуя свои цели.

🔍 Нашел пример коротенький с картинкой:

I have seen some Founders have difficulties in calculating Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC) and Life Time Value (LTV)

This post will give you an idea of how to calculate Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC) and Customer Life Time Value (LTV).

Calculating Customer Lifetime Value (LTV):

- Suppose a company’s ARR (Annual Recurring Revenue)= $500K
- Total number of customers= 2500
- Average Revenue Per Customer= $500K/ 2500= $200

- Gross Margin= 80%
- Gross Margin Per Customer= $200*80%= $160

- Annual Retention Rate= 95%
- Annual Churn Rate= 5%
- Discount Rate= 15% (for early-stage startups it varies from 15% to 20%)

- Discount rate in the LTV formula accounts for the Time Value of Money.
- An early-stage company values earlier payments more given its risk profile- Cash Burn Rate, urgent spending needs, irregular cash flows, etc

- Margin Multiple= 95%/ ((1+15%)-95%)= 4.75
- Customer Lifetime Value= $160*4.75= $ 760

Calculating Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC):

CAC= Entire cost of Sales & Marketing in a given period/ Number of New Customers Added in that period

What goes into CAC:
- Cost of Marketing Team
- Cost of Sales Team
- Advertising cost
- Creative cost
- Technical cost
- Publishing cost
- Production cost etc

- Let’s consider there are 5 Sales Executives with an average salary of $60,000
- Total Expense in Salary= 5*$60,000= $300K

- Digital Marketing (DM) Expense= $20K
- Search Engine Marketing (SEM) Expense= $10K

- Total Sales & Marketing Expense= $300K+$20K+$10K= $330K

Productivity Calculation:
- Suppose each sales executive brings in 60 new customers; so total new customers= 60*5= 300
- DM Conversion Rate (against % spend)= 4%, number of new customers from DM Campaign= 20,000*4%= 800
- SEM Conversion Rate= 2%, number of new customers from SEM Campaign= 10000*2%= 200

- Total new customer= 300+800+200= 1300

- Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC)= $330K/ 1300= $ 254
- LTV Value= $760

- LTV/ CAC= $760/ $254= 3, which means the company receives $3 per $1 spent to acquire the customer and this is a healthy ratio.

There are several other ways of calculating CAC and LTV as well.
I believe this post will give you an idea about CAC & LTV.
🔥1👏1
Китай / APAC
Goldman Sachs prediction of world’s top economies by 2050
Forwarded from Dinara Zhumabek
There’s a lot of noise and uncertainty in tech today. So we’re thrilled to bring you some good news…

We’ve raised €500M in new funds!

You're probably wondering: "Why should I care?" Because this new capital enables us to partner with even more of Europe’s next-generation pre-Seed and Seed startups and help them scale to global success.

No matter the size of our fund or the state of the economy, our focus remains crystal clear – partnering with founders from the very beginning and doing everything in our power to help them succeed is our top priority. There’s nothing our nearly one hundred team members working across the continent take more seriously.

Read more: https://www.speedinvest.com/blog/speedinvest-raises-500-million-for-european-tech-startups

Thanks to the continued support and trust of our 250+ portfolio companies, LPs, and team, we’re now able to double down on our mission to collectively change early-stage European tech and VC for good.

We're ready. Are you?
Пробую outreach / search оптимизацию в Linkedin. Остается даже 40+ символов на полет фантазии. Проверяем на что падки инвесторы/ангелы/фонды.
Tell me how to startup (c) Kryak meetings
Пробую outreach / search оптимизацию в Linkedin. Остается даже 40+ символов на полет фантазии. Проверяем на что падки инвесторы/ангелы/фонды.
В чем логика и сакрал этой строки:
- ты спамишь в комментах у VC, фондов, ангелов.
- кидаешь инвайты всяким стартаперам/ангелам
- тебя как-то находят случайно по упоминаниям или бренду или фио

Что работает дальше?
- смотрят скока общих друзей
- смотрят на этот intro one liner
- смотрят основной профиль

нет общих друзей -> ты спамер и outreach
нет короткого описания -> нет интереса даже смотреть

Цепляет количество общих друзей
Цепляет знакомая компания в шапке профиля
Цепляет релевантный 1liner

🦄Я заметил, что если друзей общих больше 10 - почти неглядя добавляют.

🦄Если ты пытаешься со своими пользователями общаться/клиентами продукта - им хватит твоего места работы и должность.

🦄А вот дальше цель эксперимента, это тригерить аналитиков и VC.
⚠️Для первого скрининга им хватит SAM/SOM и твой mau.
⚠️Это вообще минимум на который они клюют. Рынок достаточно большой SAM - значит это кому-то надо , SOM больше $100m, это задел под единорога.
⚠️MAU показатель минимального трекшена, что тобой пользуются.

😱 PLG B2B+B2E это разграничение «свой/чужой», чтобы те кто только на b2c смотрят проходили мимо, кто про b2b/b2e как минимум внимание обратили, те кто PLG - увидели секретные руны/пароль для начала общения.

Скажу так, по ключу startup plg не так много выдачи в LinkedIn, у меня сразу просмотры пошли он незнакомых людей